Healthy Kitchen Smells Fresh

November 14, 2008

Banana? Buckwheat? Coconut? All in one

Filed under: Allergy Free, Bakings, Cookies, Desserts, Gluten-Free, Vegan, Vegetarian — nshahida @ 9:37 am

img_3035

I realized I haven’t been using buckwheat flour for a while now. And it sitting in the freezer screaming to be picked up , used… in anything. I love buckwheat for the nutty and rich flavor in lands to my baked goods. Plus having that kind of mentality that I am eating healthy sweets because of you dear, buckwheat flour. Knowing the fact , It provides us with protein in addition it’s very high in fiber,iron and not to mention antioxidants. That’s what you need to look for in your diet instead of unsparingly higher carbs.

My ‘passion’ about cookies drove me into the appealing idea of making buckwheat cookies. Buckwheat and cookies. It sounded nasty at first to me .After a heavy heart I tried the first time… I started to love it. I finally use buckwheat flour almost every time except recently.

So I decided to make kind of cookies at which has everything in it. Off I went to the kitchen and did a pantry spot checked . I found overripen bananas need to go immediately and dried coconut that has become my top favorite. So why not making cookies?

The recipe I refered was from a basic chocolate chips cookies that can be found almost everywhere now. It’s from a cookbook named Ultimate Southern Cooking. Since I was planning to make use the buckwheat flour and all listed above, I have completely altered everything from A to Z except for measurement – that’s what I am looking for because I am no good at amounts. I then made up my mind to make it Allergy free, not soy free though but it’s surely opened for variation including soy free.

How it turned out?

Believe me… you too will love buckwheat, insyaAllah! the outcome was very pleasing to the deepest of my heart, I am so thankful.. alhamdulillah! It was rich, complex yet the taste is recognizable , you will get choc chips and coconut flakes on each bites. The banana and buckwheat really bring the flavor.You won’t notice even a bit that beany flavor from the soy flour, garbanzo(chickpea) flour. The texture is externally crispy , moist and tender in the middle. It tastes better after 1 day or 2.

cookies

Banana Coconut Cookies (Yields about 24 cookies)

Ingredients:

1/2 cup buckwheat flour

1/2 cup soy flour ( or coconut flour, chickpea flour or more buckwheat flour)

2/3 cup white rice flour

2/3 cup potato starch

1/4 Tapioca starch

1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder

1 teaspoon baking soda

A couple pinch of salt

2/3 cup white sugar

3/4 cup brown sugar

– Sift together in a large bowl

Other Ingredients:
1/2 cup grapeseed oil ( or any light tasting oil of your choice)

1 Tablespoons molasses  (for buttery flavor and moistness)

1/3 cup smoothly blended banana

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

2 or more Tablespoons coconut milk or milk of your choice( if the dough is too stiff)

– In a small bowl, add all wet ingredients and whisk vigorously till well incorporated.

Add ins:

1/3 Coconut flakes

1/2 Chocolate chips ( I used dairy free)


Methods:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Line the baking sheet with parchment paper.

Pour in the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients and stir well to combine. The dough should be not sticky or too stiff. Easy to shape.If the dough is crumbly, add in the milk of your choice one tablespoon at a time to soften. If the dough is too wet, add a little bit of rice flour, as needed, until it sets up better.

Stir in coconut flakes and chocolate chips to combine and form the dough into a ball.

Spoon the dough into a size of tablespoon full. Roll it into ball. The whole dough makes about 22-25 balls. Arrange the balls on baking sheets 2 inches apart.  Press them gently, not too much. Gluten free cookies spread well.

Bake for about 12 to 15 minutes until the cookies are firm to a light touch, and cracked a bit.  The cookies are soft to touch right after baking, let it cool on the baking sheet for a couple minutes.

Remove them from the baking sheet to cool completely on a wire cooling rack.

Ready to serve or keep in ziploc bag and place it in the refrigerator.

Notes Of The Day:

1- Gluten Free cookies , from my observation doesn’t stay firm and crispy if kept at room temperature.. it falls apart and end up crumbly. You can even wrap it with aluminium foil, place it in freezer/ziploc bag and freeze for later use.

2 – The cookies will dry out if baked too long. If you want it more crispy continue to bake for 2 minutes longer.. no more than that.

3 – The fat I use in this recipe can be substituted with any kind of oil. I would say coconut oil is the best, if you don’t have one just stick with your own cooking oil but makesure it’s heart healthy oil ( canola oil, light olive oil)

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

