Healthy Kitchen Smells Fresh

February 16, 2009

Homemade Graham Crakers or Digestive Biscuits

Filed under: Bakings, Cookies, Desserts, Vegan, Vegetarian — nshahida @ 2:22 pm

img_2815

Among friends, as I could remember, I was so known as a cookie monster . Yes, they hit the nail on the head, I agree for I was so busy munching cookies and crackers while others having their heavy meals – I wasn’t much for anything heavy like rice at that time. The unlogical reason I’d say exactly is because I didn’t want to get fat and stay healthy . Plus , I love cookies or anything like crackers.It’s fun to munch until you forget to stop, from breakfast to dinner. Oh, unfortunately that’s not right.. don’t know how to stop munching?…It can get to that far.

After long, I still love them. But, this time I consume sparingly just for snacking or sometimes dessert. Especially when you dunk it in hot tea or even milk, can’t get enough of it till you know you should stop.. by then.

When I came in realization that I actually can make it my own , I decided to give it a try. Eversince, I have never gone for store bought cookies and crackers. For cookies, yes I make my own most of the time. As of cracker.. hmmm.. not really until recently.

Graham cracker or sometimes people call it digestive biscuit is my top favorite when it comes to sweet-but-not-too-sweet snack.. It is because the grainy texture from the whole wheat or graham flour makes me feel like I am eating healthy, plus its crunchy munchable aspect is satisfyingly great subs for potato chips. The flavor can be found variety, but I prefer the traditional one. The one that has hint of cinnamon flavor with great combo of molasses and brown sugar – mild and not too sweet.

You see, how much I love it,  leads me in continuing my kitchen experiment. My first, second and thrice  trials were not a success. I tried the forth time inspired by this recipe. The idea for some changes to be made gushed through my mind, sounded fascinating and it was a why not. I am glad I did!

I made a few changes from this inspiring recipe because I was expecting in my head graham crackers – which means the texture, shape and flavor should be there. As a result, alhamdulillah.. I got what I had in mind and I am so happy to put up on my journal to be shared.

I replaced coconut oil and canola oil instead of butter without sacrificing the texture and flavor I expected. It is because I wanted low fat and non hydrogenated graham crackers just so I can enjoy it guiltlessly.  Bear in mind, it’s ok  in moderation.

After all, I still am a cookies monster but not to the extreme. Eating crackers or cookies instead of rice isn’t such a healthy idea for me and probably you who want to watch our diet and weight. Consuming carb alone is not enough especially unhealthy carb. This is a great reminder for me to finally realize eating rice won’t make me fat.

Graham Crackers

Homemade Graham Crackers / Digestive Biscuits (Yields 4 Large Crackers)

Ingredients:

  • 3/4 Cups whole-wheat flour or graham flour or regular all purpose flour
  • 2 Tablespoons all purpose flour
  • 1 Tablespoon cornstarch
  • 1 Tablespoon rolled oat
  • 2 Tablespoons brown sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1 Tablespoons Vegetable shortening or coconut oil
  • 2 Tablespoons canola oil
  • 2 Tablespoons molasses (honey or another 2 tbsp brown sugar)
  • 2 – 3 Tablespoons cold milk or water
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Methods:

1- Mix together the flours, sugar, baking powder,  salt, and cinnamon. Add shortening/ oil, stir and rub with tip of your fingers until the mixture resembles coarse meal, about 30 seconds or so.

2- Add the molasses, water, and vanilla. Mix until the dough starts to come together in a ball, another 30 seconds. Scrape dough out.

  • Do not overmix the dough , we want them end up breakable flaky  and crispy texture , not teeth-breaking.

3- Between 2 sheets of waxed or parchment paper, roll the dough 1/8-inch thick. Chill for at least 1 hour, until firm – several hours.

4- Preheat oven to 350F. Retrieve dough and roll it a bit more if it is not yet 1/8-inch thick. With a sharp knife or pizza cutter, score into 4-inch squares. Leave the squares together, you can break them up after they’re baked. With a fork or toothpick, prick several holes in each cracker.

5- Bake for 20 minutes 0r until lightly browned at the edges. Remove from the oven and let cool on the pan. Do not overbake them.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

